It does not matter where you live, if you are going through a divorce you know it can take a toll on your mind, body, and family. Even though this may be true, many people still realize that they have to move forward for one reason or another.
The divorce process is not the same from state to state. Instead, each one has its own set of laws that couples must abide by as they go through the process. There is no way around this, so it is best to learn as much as possible upfront and then work forward in an efficient and organized manner.
The state of California is well known for how long it can take to grant a divorce, with the processing of paperwork often taking as long as 360 days. Along with this, there is a $395 filing fee.
At this time, California is the only state in the country requiring a six month cooling off period after filing.
California has been making waves for many years when it comes to the divorce process, dating back to 1970 when then governor Ronald Reagan signed legislation to make it the first no-fault divorce state.
If you know anybody who has gone through a divorce in the past, even if it was not in the state of California, you are well aware of what can and probably will happen along the way. There are many questions to answer and battles to be had, ranging from property division disputes to child support and much more. It is essential to know how the process works every step of the way.
Source: News Radio WGOW, “Top Seven Worst States for Divorce” Aug. 07, 2014